Skip to main content
Criterion staff report

John RyanJohn Ryan, a member of Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish in Indianapolis, was installed as the new president of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul’s Indianapolis Council at the group’s annual meeting on Oct. 5.

Stepping down as president was Patrick Jerrell, a member of St. Jude Parish in Indianapolis, who held the position since 2008, fulfilling the maximum of two consecutive three-year terms allowed by the organization’s bylaws.

Sworn in at the same meeting was James Vento, the council’s first executive director. In this role, Vento, a member of St. Elizabeth Seton Parish in Carmel, Ind., in the Lafayette Diocese, will oversee the day-to-day operations of the organization’s food pantry, distribution center and Beggars for the Poor homeless ministry.

Ryan and Vento have decades of leadership experience.

Button Text